



## **HONORES Y OTROS RECONOCIMIENTOS CIENTIFICOS ESPECIALES:**

- Recipient of the Schering Award for Research done by Medical Students in Colombia, 1951.
- Recipient of the Centennial Medal of the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology, 1962.
- Maude Abbott Lecturer, International Academy of Pathology, 1970.
- President, Senate of the Universidad del Valle, 1969-1970.
- Honorary Member of the Sociedad Latinoamericano de Patologia.
- Honorary Member of the Sociedad Peruana de Patologia.
- Honorary Member of the Sociedad Española de Anatomia Patologica.
- President, International Association of Cancer Registries, 1979-1983.
- President, Association of Latin American Pathologists, 1980-1981.
- Honorary Member of the Sociedad Latinoamericana de Mastologia.
- Award of Merit "Princess Takematsu Cancer Research Fund", 1989.
- Editorial Board Member, Journal of the National Cancer Institute. European Journal of Cancer Prevention, 1990



- Editor-in-Chief, Cancer Epidemiology, Biomarkers and Prevention (published by the
- American Association for Cancer Research and co-sponsored by the American Society
- of Preventive Oncology), 1990-1997
- Recipient of the First American Cancer Society Award on Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention,
  1992
- Board of Scientific Counselors, DCE, National Cancer Institute 1982 1992.
- Member, President's Cancer Panel, Special Commission on Breast Cancer, 1992-
- Member, National Cancer Advisory Board, 1992-1998 (Presidential Appointment)
- Member, National Cancer Advisory Board subcommittee to evaluate the National Cancer
- Program (1993)
- Honorary Member of Sociedad Colombiana de Patología, 1992-
- Alpha Omega Alpha (LSU Chapter)
- Deputy Director, Stanley S. Scott Cancer Center 1994-1997
- Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 1994-
- Distinguished Achievement Award, American Society of Preventive Oncology, 1995
- Honorary Member, International Association of Cancer Registries, 1995
- Honorary Fellow of the American College of Epidemiology, 1996
- Marshall and Warren Medal, 2009
- AACR Minorities in Cancer Research Jane Cooke Wright Lectureship Award, 2012
- American Gastroenterological Association Distinguished Achievement Award, 2013